Not Without a Permit!

This last Friday (the 6th) was my Beloved’s and my 20th wedding anniversary! (The Lord is so good!)
We spent a nice, long weekend at the Coast. While there, we visited the whale-watching observatory building at Depoe Bay. That’s where I found this rather interesting sentence on a whole wall full of such info. I am amazed at the things for which one can obtain a legal permit.

marine mammal permit

Grammatical Origamy


Based on the rules of English grammar, I understand this sentence to be saying that it is illegal…
… to harass a live marine mammal,
… to harass a dead marine mammal,
… to harass any part of a live marine mammal,
… to harass any part of a dead marine mammal,
… to possess a marine mammal,
… to possess a dead marine mammal,
… to possess any part of a live marine mammal,
… to possess any part of a dead marine mammal …
But apparently, any of these activities can be lawful, if one obtains the proper permit.

4 thoughts on “Not Without a Permit!

  1. This is one of the most hilarious things I have read in a long time! I read this to my girlfriend and we had a nice, long laugh over it. I am so happy to hear that you had a great weekend together! I look forward to our next get together.

  2. Haha! I too found hilarity in the very thought, and when I read it to my g… oh, myself, I did a little throaty chuckle. I find the timing of the message very interesting. Perhaps Mrs. Stewart should look into getting a permit? I’m just saying! Don’t want the police kickin in your door in the middle of the night. Congratulations on the incredible blessing YHWH’s given you. I’m currently enjoying the 22nd anniversary of my bachelorhood, so looks like I got the one up on you! Not that it’s a competition… Love you!

    • So, you’re calling me a marine mammal?… But I’m not even a beaver! (BTW, How ’bout them Bengs?… 6 and 2!)
      Well… I suppose I’d rather be a marine mammal than a reptile…
      What’s tougher?… A marine mammal or a Navy Seal?… Or an army ant?…
      Love you too, brother!

Leave a Reply

