The Myth of Neutrality in Interpersonal “Skill”

I originally enrolled in ICE 502E for one simple reason. I am an adjunct faculty member for a local college adult degree program in which I seem most often to be given a course called “Interpersonal Communication.” I am no expert on the subject, so I thought I would try to learn more about it.
I have definitely received a lot of good info which has helped me to teach the IPC material better.
What I continue to struggle with, though, is this assumption of “religious neutrality” in the subject matter. Here’s an explanation of what I mean:
Our kids in public schools are being taught a myth of worldview neutrality which basically tells them that A-squared + B-squared= C-squared regardless of whether Jesus Christ is Lord or not. This is sad, because one will not really grasp what Geometry is all about until he or she realizes that A-squared + B-squared= C-squared because Jesus Christ is the Lord of math.
Still, I would have to admit that it is possible to do a good job of teaching Geometry in a secular setting without having to preach the gospel in every lesson. But what about History? How does one tell the world’s story without pointing to its Protagonist as such? Or what of language? How does one teach language without reference to Him who is the Word, the very reason there is such a thing as language at all? What about social sciences such as Interpersonal Communication?
What are we, as Christians, doing when we teach a set of interpersonal communication “skills” which do not require a learner at least to face Jesus’ claim to be the Lord of all persons and all communication.
I am not arguing for getting prayer back in the schools and all that (in fact, I consider much of that sort of effort by Christians to be a bit misguided). But it seems to me that we should be about exploding the myth that learning is neutral. The world has all but won a significant contest here. And the method has been rather insidious. We Christians are not asked to deny Jesus, just to treat Him as irrelevant.

Leave a Reply

