Snapshot of Christian Theology

I just began reading a book by Vinoth Ramachandra called Subverting Global Myths: Theology and the Public Issues Shaping Our World. In part of a paragraph of the prologue, Ramachandra totally nails the essence of Christian theology:

Christian theology is more than a set of doctrinal beliefs or systematic arguments. It is a way of seeing, of so dwelling in a particular language and doing new things with that language so that its revelatory and transformative power is manifest in the world. That language arose out of specific historical events that both constitute us as the ekklesia of Christ and call forth characteristic social practices such as thanksgiving, forgiving, exposing evil, truth-telling, welcoming the broken and the hopeless, and bearing testimony to grace. Such a theology seeks comprehensiveness, because it seeks to bear prophetic witness to One whose speech-acts heal, renew and transform the world in its entirety, but its own speech is always broken, sharing in the not-yet-redeemed character of the world.

I love this! It is loaded!
If you have time, I suggest reading this excerpt slowly a couple of times. Pause for a moment over each phrase. There is much here that is golden.

2 thoughts on “Snapshot of Christian Theology

  1. “There will be no peace on Earth until My Son’s Kingdom. I will crush every kingdom now standing and rock the earth off its foundation. I Yahweh will destroy every enemy to My throne, and who can stop Me? Who can turn back My anger? No one.” – Yahweh

    Matthew 10:34 “Don’t assume that I came to bring peace on the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword.”

    Exodus 15:3 “The LORD is a warrior; Yahweh is His name.”

    Yahweh, our God and Creator pours out His wrath upon mankind leading up to Armageddon. It is His will that you all know exactly where it is coming from.

    • Hi, reginaadonna —
      Ummmmmm… Do we know each other?
      If not, I’m curious as to how you came across my little blog. Of course, you are welcome here, but I’m curious.
      I’m afraid I don’t understand the point of your comment. It doesn’t seem to be addressing the content of my post.
      Also, I am wondering where you found the quote from Yahweh. It doesn’t seem to be from Scripture, which is the only reliable source I know of for knowing what Yahweh has said. Did you receive this message directly? Are you saying that you speak for Yahweh? I am very interested to hear whence it is that you feel it appropriate to do so.
      BTW, It is not that I necessarily disagree with the theological content of what you have said your “quote,” I just question the wisdom of presuming to speak for Yahweh in such exact terms. I realize that poets, authors and songwriters do this all the time. But there is a difference between artistic license and “quoting” Yahweh as if you’ve had a personal interview with Him.
      What say you?

Leave a Reply

