“Sonnet of Waiting”

Quoth Milton in a sonnet old and grand,
“They also serve who only stand and waite.”
For me it feels, at best, to hibernate
To simply wait or turn aside to stand
If only I could hear His clear command
It would this grief and pain attenuate
Which lasts so long and runs so very late
And hardly seems by Mercy to be planned
But as it is, I don’t know what He wants
And so uncertain through my days I go
One hour and then another, on and on
Each day I’m forced to say, “It’s for the nonce”
Until He deigns a path to me to show
A course anew embarking thereupon

Leave a Reply

